GracieG28

Has this negatively or positively affected your marriage?

17 posts in this topic

Hi, 

I'm new to this and have been reading through the other threads. I'm so thankful to find a place where people seem to be going through similar things to me! 

My husband and I have a young family (that we are hoping to expand next year). I've told him of my bi-curiosity and he is fine with me  exploring it, and if I enjoy it, I can continue to act on that. With two conditions - that things don't become romantic (friendly/friendships ok), and there's no other men involved (couples, threesome etc). 

I've signed up for a couple of dating sites (without photos), but honestly don't know what i'm doing. I don't want people finding out, we are both professionals and I would hate for it to reflect poorly on him, or people to gossip that I was having an affair etc. We live in a small town.

I also don't just want to have a one night stand... 

The thing is, now that i've got the green light, i'm absolutely terrified to act on it. What if it changes things between myself and my husband?

What if it changes the way I feel, or he feels? Or he gets jealous after the fact? Or I feel guilty? As you can see, there's quite a bit of anxiety clouding the excitement at the moment. 

Has anyone gone through with this and had it not negatively affect their marriage? Would love to hear about it.

Welcome! First I'd like to make a recommendation....there are several books that discuss non monogamy and how to make it work, two I see most talked about here are "The Ethical Slut" ( get be thrown off by the title) by Dossie Easton, and "Opening Up" by Tristan Taormino. You should choose at least one to read, ideally both you and your husband would read and discuss it.