satehen

Tattoos- What To Expect.

50 posts in this topic

I'd just like to say, I'm no expert on tattoos, but I've had two small ones and then went through the process of getting them covered over with a large tattoo that will, when complete have taken 4/5 hours. This is just my experience to help those who are new to tattoos.

Choose carefully. Not just your tattoo, but your tattoo artists. Although, really partner's names is always a very bad idea. Choose something that you won't feel ashamed of when you are eighty, because tattoos will be with you for the rest of your life, unless you undergo painful and expensive lazer surgery. Check out your artist. NEVER let price enter into your decision making, If it's worth having it's worth paying for. Ask to see your tattooist's previous work. If you don't like their style, walk away. Check that your artist is experienced and has qualifications, mine even had an award! Check that they have the hygiene certificates, but more than that use your eyes. My artist had pre-packed sterile needles that he used on me. You can't be too safe when dealing with neededles!

Book your consultation. A decent artist won't accept you until they've spoken to you in person and got an idea of what you want. By all means take a picture, though some, like mine will create their own art, not imitate others.

Book your appointment. If they give you something a few months later you know they are in demand. This is good! If they see you straight away wonder why. Once you've booked ask to be put on a cancellation list. I was due in July and August, but was offered my first appointment in May!